A guide to Hitch Hiking in Denmark

“I would never do hitch hiking it’s for hippies” says a friend not such a long time ago.

After 3 days of travelling he came back to me and said “It’s so easy and amazing, I am so good at it!”

In Denmark I doubt it’s very common to hitch hike, you would most likely find foreigners or back packers doing it in the summer but that’s where it ends. However, I found it one of the best to travel (as well as car sharing). Because it’s efficient, easy, and most important a way to make your travel an experience rather than some time you are “wasting” on a train. Some like to be on train on their own, letting their mind wandering, I also like doing this but I also feel that when I hitch hike I always meet amazing people.

Hitch hiking is a way for people to meet but somehow there is a selection process going on. Why? Because not everyone will hitch hike, therefore if you put your self out there it means you have energy, time and the will to meet people (it doesn’t mean you have to be talkative but you shouldn’t feel uncomfortable being in stranger car). Plus while doing this you rely on others, you assume being dependent and in an society becoming more and more individualistic interdependance is often seen as a weakness.I see it as strengh because if I can’t do something on my own I am not scared to ask for help.

The selection process continues because not everybody stops to take hitch hikers. I like to believe that the people who stop are inherently good not matter who they are and they background because they see someone on the road and stop to help, they know they won’t get anything in return appart from a nice chat maybe. You also have creeps that stop but I haven’t met any.

That’s where the magic happens, I had the best conversation riding people’s car, it’s such an easy to meet people when you are in a foreign country and want to get into the culture. It’s a very interesting way to communicate because all of sudden the akwardness that people may feel while having to talk to strangers isn’t really there. You have at least one thing in common: going somewhere therefore it’s your starting point.

Learn how to hitch a ride!

Thanks to Emilia, Cecilie and Christoffer for this video :)

Are you ready to put in practice what you learned from our previous video? I am heading to Copenhagen this week end and I am getting ready to encounter this!

 

5 thoughts on “A guide to Hitch Hiking in Denmark

You can leave a message here

