Français, English….Dansk?

While traveling  I experienced a lot of things while discovering new culture and lifestyle. One of the most obvious is of course…language.

I think my interest for language grew while traveling. I always liked English and then love it when I started to learn more and moved to London. And then it became natural for me to use it, of course you can still tell I am French, but I am vok using it. And being abale to speak 2 languages is so amazing, it opens up your world. Because you will understand so much more of the culture and you have more means of expressing your self.

A nice experience I had was with this friend, half French, half English guy. He had grew up between France and the UK and could speak both perfectly . When we met (through couchsurfing) we started using…both. How nice it is to be able to switch language, that it adapts to what you want to communicate, because if you aren’t an interpret it’s not as easy to translate everything and some ideas will come more naturally in one language than the other. I really like that!

I have to say I was quite satisfied for a while just speaking 2 languages.

As you may have heard French have a bad rep when it comes to learning language and yes we suck. It might be the teaching, some say pride in our culture, I would also think that we may need English less than my Swedish friends for example, because it’s a language used worldwide. So being able to speak more than French was already good enough for me.

But this feeling changed, when I started travelling more. First I thought spanish would be great and useful. But I kind of hate the idea that you would learn a language because it has a use. Of course you can’t deny it and I think this is why so many of us learn English, but I think you need to be attracted to it.

I really liked Hebrew for example, and apart from Israel I don’t see where I could use it. Being there 3 months I only catches few words and expressions but if I have the opportunity I will learn it. I am also very interested in Portuguese.

But first, Danish is where I will start . Denmark is very good when it comes to teaching language. As a foreigner I have 3 years of free Danish lessons. Started this week. I don’t know if I will make it but it’s worth trying and I am very curious. It would be very interesting to learn something that is so different to my mother tongue (ok chinese or japanese could also be a nice challenge). From a French perspective it sounds so …odd. A lot of the sounds are impossible to reproduce for me, but when you start reading Out of Africa, you just think of a new world that will open to you once you can speak the language!

Wish me luck!

whaaaat

That’s my expression when someone try to communicate in Danish with me…for now!

You can leave a message here

