6th May 2013

IsraelEn français ici

Monday I am leaving for Israel.

My visa has been approved, my tickets are booked and I hope that I don’t forget anything while packing! I’ll do my best to post about my stay there. I’ll be working in a kibbutz, if you don’t know what it is, look it up to have an idea of the origin and history as it’s quite different nowadays.

Here the definition from KPC (the organisation you go with to volunteer in kibbutz)

WHAT IS KIBBUTZ?

Kibbutz means group in Hebrew. It is a modest name for something unique: a voluntary democratic community where people live and work together on a non-competitive basis. Its aim is to generate an economically and socially independent society founded on principles of communal ownership of property, social justice, and equality.

The first kibbutzim (plural of kibbutz) were organized by idealistic young Zionists who came to Palestine in the beginning of the 20th Century. Their dream was not just to settle the land it, but to build a whole new kind of society. Despite many hardships, they succeeded in creating a social system and a way of life which has played a crucial role in the development of the State of Israel both culturally and politically.

You can find more info on their website.

I don’t know yet where I’ll be this is the surprise. I arrive at Tel Aviv early morning on Tuesday and then go to the office, there according the places available I’ll know where I go. You don’t necessarily pick the kibbutz, I guess if several have places you can maybe decide…I’ll see by my self!

What I found funny is Israel is about the size of Brittany in France! So I hope to travel around when I am there to see as much as I can and discover the culture. I will try to make some videos of my trip, eventually post them here!

If you have been to Israel or plan to go there, or even live there, let me know I would love to hear your thoughts about this country!

You can leave a message here

